JAMSTEC > Research Institute for Global Change (RIGC) > Topics

Ocean Decade Laboratories #7 Productive Ocean
Prosperous Ecosystems in the Western North Pacific

Date:
Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Time:
13:30-17:00 JST (KST: JST+0 / CST: JST-1 / CEST: JST-7)
Organizer:
Japan Agency for Marine-Earth Science and Technology (JAMSTEC)
Research Institute for Global Change (RIGC)
Maki Noguchi Aita, Shuhei Masuda, Yugo Kanaya, Kentaro Ando
Type of event:
Online (Webinar)
Language:
English / Japanese
Simultaneous Japanese-English interpretation available

Description:

The Western North Pacific Ocean has the largest heat and CO2 fluxes and is also rich in biodiversity. Topics will be covered from climate change to fishery resources that will lead to establishing a next-generation monitoring system combining oceanographic characteristics. We will have an opportunity to think together about: what are the current issues we are facing, what are the major challenges for the next decade, how can we maintain and enhance our ocean observing systems, and how can we address these challenges. By providing an opportunity to interact with scientists and stakeholders from many countries in this session, we expect to identify concrete challenges to working with stakeholders based on the current situation of observational data and scientific knowledge.

Abstract: PDF

Agenda

13:30 ~ 13:35 (JST, KST) /
12:30~12:35 (CST)
Opening Remarks
Maki Noguchi Aita
JAMSTEC
Purpose of the workshop,
the introduction of speakers
13:35 ~ 13:55 (JST, KST) / 12:35 ~ 12:55 (CST) Keynote presentation
Keith B. Rodgers Keith B. Rodgers
IBS Center for Climate Physics /
Pusan National University,
Senior Researcher
Emergent Trends in Northwest Pacific Biogeochemistry and Ecosystems
13:55 ~ 14:45 (JST, KST) / 12:55 ~ 13:45 (CST) Findings from Long-Term Data Analysis
Chair: Yugo Kanaya
JAMSTEC
Sayaka Yasunaka
Sayaka Yasunaka
Department of Geophysics,
Tohoku University,
Professor
Data accumulation reveals changes in the ocean environment
Kazuaki Tadokoro
Kazuaki Tadokoro
Japan Fisheries Research and Education Agency,
Chief Researcher
Recent change of the plankton community of the important primary producer of the marine ecosystem in the western North Pacific Ocean
Yuki Kanamori
Yuki Kanamori
Japan Fisheries Research and Education Agency,
Tenure-track Researcher
Impacts of marine environments such as water temperature on fishery resources over almost half a century
14:45~14:55 (JST, KST) / 13:45~13:55 (CST)Break Time
14:55 ~ 15:45 (JST, KST) / 13:55~14:45 (CST) Future Directions
Chair: Shuhei Masuda
JAMSTEC
Yu-Lin Chang
Yu-Lin Chang
JAMSTEC,
Dupty Senior Scientist
The application of ocean model simulation on Anguillid eel migration
Michio Aoyama
Michio Aoyama
Faculty of Life and Environmental Sciences,
University of Tsukuba,
Visiting Professor
Comparability and traceability of nutrients data in the world ocean
Makio Honda
Makio Honda
JAMSTEC,
Senior Principal Scientist
Ideal observation network for the study of the biological carbon pump
15:45~15:55 (JST, KST)/ 14:45~14:55 (CST)Break Time
15:55 ~16:55 (JST, KST) / 14:55~15:55 (CST) Panel Discussion
Moderator:
Kentaro Ando
Kentaro Ando
JAMSTEC
Panelists:
Xiaopei Lin
Xiaopei Lin
Ocean University of China,
Professor
Pacific Decadal Climate Change and Fish Catche
Hiroya Sugisaki
Hiroya Sugisaki
Japan Fisheries Research and Education Agency,
Fixed-term Staff
Assistant to the President
Recent poor catch problems in the rich fishery grounds
Kaori Fujita
Kaori Fujita
Graduate School of Life Sciences,
Tohoku University,
Professor
What Financial Institutions Which Make ESG Investments and Loans, Companies, and Consumers Expect from the Ocean
16:55 ~ 17:00 (JST, KST) / 15:55~16:00 (CST) Closing Remarks
Naomi Harada
Director-General, RIGC, JAMSTEC